Academy of American Poets

Patrick Rosal, associate professor of English at Rutgers University–Camden, has won the 2017 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize from the Academy of American Poets for his latest collection of poems, Brooklyn Antediluvian. The $25,000 award recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year. The poems unflinchingly address race and race relations in America through Rosal’s identity and experiences as a Filipino American, traversing his childhood growing up in North Jersey and his family’s roots in the Philippines.

National Academy of Engineering

Martin YarmushMartin L. Yarmush, Paul and Mary Monroe Chair and Distinguished Professor, biomedical engineering, School of Engineering, Rutgers University–New Brunswick, was elected in 2017 to the National Academy of Engineering, among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Yarmush was recognized for his “pioneering advances in cellular, tissue, and organ engineering and for leadership in applying metabolic engineering to human health.”

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation

Gregory PardloPatrick RosalJochen HellbeckGregory Pardlo, left, and Patrick Rosal, center, both faculty in the Department of English and the Graduate Creative Writing Program, Rutgers University–Camden, and Jochen Hellbeck, right, professor of history in the School of Arts and Sciences, Rutgers University–New Brunswick, have been named 2017 Guggenheim Fellows. Pardlo, an alumnus of Rutgers–Camden, received the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for his collection Digest. Rosal is the author of the awarding-winner poetry collection Brooklyn Antediluvian. Hellbeck studies how individuals maintained a sense of self, following cataclysmic events in the former Soviet Union.

Geological Society of America

Alexander GatesAlexander Gates, Distinguished Service Professor in Rutgers University–Newark’s Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, has received the Geological Society of America’s 2017 Public Service Award, which honors contributions that enhance the public's understanding of the earth sciences and serve decision-makers in the application of scientific and technical information.

U.s. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs: Fulbright

Gloria Bonilla-SantiagoGloria Bonilla-Santiago, Board of Governors Distinguished Service Professor of public policy and administration, director of the Community Leadership Center, and board chair of the LEAP Academy University Charter School at Rutgers University–Camden, has been named a Fulbright Specialist for 2017–2018; she will lead a professional development institute on leadership, resource development, and community engagement at Universidad Nacional de Asunción in San Lorenzo, Paraguay.

Simons Foundation

Gabriel KotliarAlex KontorovichNatasa SesumFour Rutgers University–New Brunswick professors are among 53 outstanding mathematicians and theoretical physicists awarded Simons Fellowships in 2017. School of Arts and Sciences faculty member Gabriel Kotliar, left, was named a Simons Fellow in Theoretical Physics and School of Arts and Sciences faculty members Jeff Kahn, Alex Kontorovich, center, and Natasa Sesum, right, were named Simons Fellows in Mathematics. With four awardees, Rutgers University–New Brunswick ties with MIT for the most Simons Fellows in 2017. In 2016, four Rutgers–New Brunswick School of Arts and Sciences mathematicians were named Simons Fellows, the most of any university in 2016. They are Lev Borisov, Fioralba Cakoni, Liping Liu, and Avraham Soffer.

Association of American Law Schools

Frank AskinFrank Askin, Rutgers Law School professor emeritus, has won the national Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Clinical Section’s 2017 William Pincus Award for outstanding service and commitment to clinical education. It is the highest honor that the AALS Clinical Section can bestow on a clinical educator. He founded the law school's Constitutional Rights Clinic and was the longest-serving general counsel for the American Civil Liberties Union.

American Academy of Nursing

Elizabeth Scannell-DeschElizabeth Scannell-Desch, professor and associate dean of baccalaureate programs, School of Nursing–Camden, Rutgers University–Camden, was one of 173 nurse leaders inducted as 2017 fellows of the American Academy of Nursing, one of the highest honors in the nursing profession. Scannell-Desch is a retired colonel in the U.S. Air Force Nurse Corps and a noted scholar on such diverse issues as nurses in the military, the impact of mid-life widowhood, and oncology.

International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease

Lee ReichmanLee B. Reichman, executive director, Global Tuberculosis Institute, New Jersey Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, received the 2016 Union Medal, the highest honor of the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease, awarded to members who have made an outstanding contribution to the control of tuberculosis or lung health by their scientific work and/or actions in the field.

National Academy of Sciences

Alexander ZamolodchikovAlexander Zamolodchikov, Board of Governors Professor of Physics at Rutgers University–New Brunswick, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. He joins 83 other members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries elected in 2016. Zamolodchikov has conducted groundbreaking research in theoretical and mathematical physics, focusing on quantum field theories and statistical physics and in particular in the areas of conformal and integrable quantum field theories.

National Academy of Inventors

Richard RimanRichard Riman has been elected to the 2016 class of National Academy of Inventors fellows. A professor in the School of Engineering at Rutgers University–New Brunswick, Riman invented a technology that produces concrete and ceramics without high temperatures, with the potential to reduce the carbon footprint of cement and concrete products by up to 70 percent.

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Ten Rutgers professors have been named 2016 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

  • Clinton J. Andrews, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy and School of Arts and Sciences, Rutgers University–New Brunswick
  • Suzie Chen, Ah-Ng Tony Kong, and Christopher J. Molloy, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
  • G. Charles Dismukes, School of Arts and Sciences and Waksman Institute of Microbiology, Rutgers University–New Brunswick
  • Henry B. John-Alder, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences, Rutgers University–New Brunswick
  • Terri Goss Kinzy, Peter Lobel, and Monica Roth, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
  • Pal Maliga, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences and Waksman Institute of Microbiology, Rutgers University–New Brunswick

National Science Foundation

Rutgers University–Newark assistant professor Michele Pavanello, a theoretical chemist, has been awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) Early CAREER Award to continue developing advanced software that models complex chemical materials and processes. Using computer models, chemists—without performing costly lab experiments—can design and characterize new materials and biosystems, such as improved solar cells and new pharmaceutical agents. CAREER Awards are among the NSF’s most prestigious awards for promising early-career faculty.