Our Structure

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is one of America's leading public research universities organized in support of our mission of teaching, research, and service.

Our Organization

The university president is the chief executive officer of the Association of American Universities (AAU) unit of Rutgers—comprised of Rutgers University–New Brunswick and Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences (RBHS)—with the chancellors of Rutgers–New Brunswick and RBHS serving as the two chief operations officers of the AAU unit. The chancellors of Rutgers University–Newark and Rutgers University–Camden are the chief executive officers of their respective areas.